What I’m Reading: 15/03/12

What I’m Still Reading:

 The Complete Artist Way by Julia Cameron. I’m on Week 10 of the Walking in this World section. ‘Discovering a Sense of Camaraderie’, which talks about the importance of having a strong sounding board, which is something I’ve touched on before. It also talks about being wary of over-eager mentors who you’ve outgrown. My sister started taking an art class at the beginning of Jan. She liked it at first, but now, the more she goes, the more her instructor disagrees with her on stylistic points.  Because she’s new to this, she’s been taking his word as gospel. I’ve been drawing since I was about 12 and my work then isn’t anywhere near as good as what the good sister has managed to accomplish in a few short months. But that’s just like her, she excels at everything. But because I have the experience with it, and can therefore critique with a discerning eye…I told her flat out not to give her instructor too much credit because it sounds like he can’t distinguish style from technique, and that its OK, and necessary for her to experiment with things even if he disagrees with it. I think she’s starting to have more fun again, but I can tell she’s already outgrown his instruction. I just hope he doesn’t discourage her too much, because for a beginner, she’s doing remarkably well. Her own style is developing so quickly! I think artists have to be very careful about what sort of mentor they want to attach themselves too. I’m lucky that most of my mentors-both writing and drawing-are very close friends of mine who guide as well as support me on my journey.

 

Growing Up Native American: An Anthology

Still chugging along with this book, and enjoying the insights into the Native American perspective. I’m surprised by how many ideas its generated for my character. I was just expecting to get a handle on the role her culture plays, but I’ve got so much more! Something’s sort of nagged at me though. Why do Native Americans embrace the word “Indian”? I would have thought they’d be loathed to call themselves that since it was an English term pushed on them because the English invaders (History may be shaped by the victor, but that doesn’t mean we have to encourage it) thought they were landing in India? Or was this one of those things I was mistaught in high school? I’d love to hear from any Native American readers though I very much doubt I have any…

What I Just Started Reading…

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff

Mackie Doyle is not one of us. Though he lives in the small town of Gentry, he comes from a world of tunnels and black murky water, a world of living dead girls ruled by a little tattooed princess. He is a Replacement, left in the crib of a human baby sixteen years ago. Now, because of fatal allergies to iron, blood, and consecrated ground, Mackie is fighting to survive in the human world.

Mackie would give anything to live among us, to practice on his bass or spend time with his crush, Tate. But when Tate’s baby sister goes missing, Mackie is drawn irrevocably into the underworld of Gentry, known as Mayhem. He must face the dark creatures of the Slag Heaps and find his rightful place, in our world, or theirs.

Borrowed from my very good friend. This blurb was not on the back cover, instead there was an excerpt that was quite creepy. I was expecting this book to be a Horror novel about an evil demon baby. I have to say I’m relieved it’s not. Much as I love to read edgy books, I’m a total whimp when it comes to outright Horror novels…and the story I’m getting instead looks a lot more up-my alley so to speak. Bring on the Urban Fantasy!

Gangster by M Jones

From the dark, basement speakeasies of 1926 Chicago, to the decadent parties of the Hollywood elite, psychopathic Clara slices her way through various people across America in her quest for fame. Brought along for the whirlwind ride of her murderous rampage, her enigmatic alien companion patiently waits for the opportunity to find his own target, a former friend set for assassination. He doesn’t understand Clara’s random need to destroy, but then, he is new to this strange, human landscape of murderers and victims. He can’t wait to simply do his job and leave this vicious world behind.

Sent to me for review by the author. Because I’ll be reviewing it on BSR, I probably will only refer to it here vaguely if at all. So far though? It’s sadistically hilarious, and the prose is elegant and strangely poetic considering the subject matter.

Gentlemen Prefer Nerds by Joan Kilby

Self-professed nerd Maddie Maloney is an expert on jewels. Jewel thieves are another matter entirely! So when a mysterious Englishman warns her that a thief known as The Chameleon is after the rare pink diamond on display in her aunt’s shop, she tells herself it’s just a joke. Even if she can’t get Mr. Tall, Dark and Handsome out of her mind…

But Fabian Montgomery doesn’t give up easily. He’s everywhere she goes, convinced the thief will strike. And when the diamond does go missing-and Maddie is suspected of stealing it-he whisks her away from the police and together they pursue The Chameleon.

Fabian plunges her into a glamorous world far from her humble workshop and transforms geeky Maddie into a sophisticated siren capable of espionage. Her mission: to seduce The Chameleon and steal back the diamond.

But Fabian isn’t telling her everything-like who he works for, and why he’s so interested in The Chameleon…

This one I specially requested from the author (thank you Joan Kilby!), because even I need something light-hearted every once in awhile and I know a few of my Review readers love Romance. Again, I probably will only refer to this vaguely….

What are you reading these days? Anything you can recommend? Books are my passion, so I’d love to hear from you!

3 thoughts on “What I’m Reading: 15/03/12

Leave a comment