Starting off with a Bang

Happy 2012 everyone!

Early this morning, I stayed up not just to watch the fireworks, but also to finish a something for the new “Evil” Freelance Job (henceforth to be referred to as  the EFJ).  The source of income at the moment is a drastic improvement, and something I’m incredibly thankful for. It’s a bright and sunny January 1st on my island, and I can’t help but feel hopeful. I truly believe this is going to be “my” year, in more ways than one.

I’ve cleaned out my annual word count tracker (made by Kait Nolan, available for download here)  for 2012. Good riddance 2011, you won’t be missed. I spent much too much time last year focusing on the wrong things. I have grown weary of missed opportunities for the sake of trying to conform my life to the norm. I have let too many “Balls from Heaven” slip through my grasp. This year is going to be different. I can feel it.

I will be signing up for ROW 80, and working on Stars. I also had an epiphany about Dirge that I may use in an effort to salvage it. Progress, not perfection, has to be my aim for the year. I have to let go of my fears and doubt in order to move on, or else I will never complete anything, and I’m tired of having nothing to show for my efforts.

So without further adieu, these are My Priorities for 2012:

1. Update both my writing and art blogs at least once a week. I’m hoping for more, but starting small.

2. Steady, daily progress on both the prep work for Stars and a first draft for Dirge (if I feel that it can be salvaged).

3. A sketch a day, with the intent of produce one finished piece a week. To accomplish this, I am setting the goal at one hour devoted towards daily artistic pursuits. As I have many preexisting  WIPS, this should not be unreasonable. Anyone who wishes can view my progress over at my Raining Ink Art Blog and Deviantart.

While I have numerous other things I would love to accomplish this year, I want to focus my energy on being as productive as possible without putting  a bunch of unnecessary pressure that will only lead to a burn out. I feel the above list is manageable, so long as I take things a day at a time, one task at a time.

So that’s my plan. What are you aspiring to in the New Year?

 

About S.J. Collins

Dolphin trainer and starving artist by daylight. Fighting plot SNAFUs and uncooperative characters by moonlight. Though born and raised in the breathtakingly beautiful and unbearably sunny islands of the Bahamas, SJ Collins draws inspiration from the darker side of fiction. She writes gray-shaded characters seeking revenge, resolution, and redemption. Because she knows sometimes you have to smolder before you can rise. If you don’t mind a little blood, sweat, and tears on the carpet, you’re welcome to come along for the ride. But keep your fingers to yourself, most of her characters bite. When not training dolphins (more like getting trained by them) to pay the bills, or writing to fill the void, SJ can be found doodling on any scrap of paper she can get her hands on, trying to harness the alchemy that is cooking (and considers any result above not burning the house down a great success), staying way up past her bed time to read, or fangirling over her obsessions (of which there are far to many too name) on tumblr. View all posts by S.J. Collins

2 responses to “Starting off with a Bang

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 269 other followers

